Real Foods Corn Thins contain the great taste of golden sun-ripened corn, popped at high heat for maximum crunch and flavor. Decidedly non-GMO and certainly gluten free, there is so much more than corn to this very versatile Australian brand: • Sorghum • Brown Rice • Buckwheat • Flax • Millet • Sesame • Sea Salt • Sunflower Oil •
• Organic Original • Multigrain • Tasty Cheese • Sour Cream & Chives • Organic Sesame • Flax & Soy •
Enjoy a Cornucopia of Corn Thins Topping Combinations!
Corn Thins are available at retailers in Victoria • Blanshard • Cook-Fairfield • Douglas Street • Fernwood • Fort Street • Government Street • Hillside • Inner Harbour • James Bay • Oak Bay • Quadra • Royal Oak – Broadmead • UVic
On VANCOUVER ISLAND • Campbell River • Chemainus • Cobble Hill • Comox • Coombs • Courtenay • Cowichan Bay • Duncan • Ladysmith • Lake Cowichan • Mill Bay • Nanaimo • Nanoose Bay• Parksville • Qualicum Beach• Port Renfrew • Shawnigan Lake • Sooke • Tofino • Ucluelet
Real Foods Answers Real Questions!
Are Corn Thins Non-GMO?
Real Foods only purchases certified non-GMO free ingredients. Their rigorous Vendor Quality Assurance Programme demands suppliers provide certified evidence that their products are 100% GMO free. Random checks by Real Foods confirm supplier compliance.
What type of salt do you use in your Corn Thins? Does it have any anti-caking agents?
Real Foods P/L use fine sun dried sea salt for all of our Corn Thins and Rice Thins. This solar dried sea salt is acknowledged by Biological Farmers of Australia Co-op as suitable for use in Organic products. There are no anti-caking (free-flow) agents in this salt. Real Foods does however have anti-caking agent 551 in its flavoured products (Sour Cream & Chives and Tasty Cheese Corn Thins). The anti-caking agent is required to ensure flavour (seasoning) can be evenly dispersed on Corn Thins.
Do your products contain any gluten or wheat? If so, how do you prevent cross contamination with non-gluten containing products?
Real Foods manufacture 9 varieties of Corn Thins (flavoured & regular) and 1 variety of Rice Thins of which the following – Original, Organic with Sesame, Soy & Linseed (Flax & Soy) Multigrain, Sesame, Tasty Cheese, Sour Cream & Chives, Honey Soy, & Pizza Flavoured Corn Thins & Rice Thins – are “Gluten free” (they do not contain any wheat, barley or rye). You will find the “gluten free” statement on the packaging of these Corn Thins varieties mentioned on the side of the pack. The ‘Gluten Free’ status of Real Foods products has been verified through independent laboratory testing.
Are sorghum and millet gluten free as well?
Both sorghum and millet, which are ingredients used in Real Foods Multigrain Corn Thins, are gluten free.
Does buckwheat contain gluten?
No. Buckwheat is not a form of wheat and does not contain gluten. It is a seed that can be used like many other grains to produce food products. Buckwheat (like many foods, including common foods like rice or corn) is not generally know as an allergen, but a very small percentage of the population may display an allergic reaction.
How do the suppliers of your grains prevent cross-contamination with allergens?
Real Foods uses only a select number of corn and rice suppliers to provide us with the high quality, clean and pure grain required. Each supplier has provided a written guarantee that they have the systems in place to prevent the cross-contamination of their corn and rice grains with allergens.
I am an anaphylactic, do any of your products contain nuts?
Real Foods do not use any nuts in the manufacture of our products. However, we do manufacture a product called “Organic with Sesame” Corn Thins . Sesame is classified as an allergen, which many nut intolerant individuals are able to consume. Our Organic Sesame Corn Thins contain 2% sesame seeds.
I am lactose intolerant, do you use dairy products in the manufacture of your Corn Thins and if so, how do you prevent cross contamination?
The flavouring component of Real Foods Flavoured Corn Thins (Sour Cream & Chives, Pizza, and Tasty Cheese Corn Thins ) contains dairy (milk) products. To ensure there is no cross contamination Real Foods have implemented a strict manufacturing and clean down regime, which is implemented each time the Flavoured Corn Thins are made. Production staff are not permitted to commence manufacturing new product until the clean down program has been completed, inspected and verified by the Quality Department.
I am allergic to eggs, do your Corn Thins have any eggs or egg traces?
There are no eggs used in the manufacture of any Real Foods products.
I am allergic to soy. Real Foods P/L make a product called Soy & Linseed (Flax and Soy), how do you prevent this product from contaminating your other product lines?
Real Foods have implemented a strict manufacturing and clean down regime, which is implemented each time the Soy and Linseed (Flax and Soy) Corn Thins are made. Production staff are not permitted to commence manufacturing new product until the clean down program has been completed, inspected and verified by the Quality Department as satisfactory.
Are the Corn Thins varieties suitable for Vegetarians and Vegans?
There are no eggs, dairy products or any other animal derivatives used in the manufacture of Real Foods Regular Corn Thins varieties. Dairy products (Milk) are used in Flavoured Corn Thins. To ensure there is no cross contamination between our dairy and non-dairy containing products, Real Foods have implemented a strict manufacturing and clean down regime, which is implemented each time the dairy containg Corn Thins are made. Production staff are not permitted to commence manufacturing new product until the clean down program has been completed, inspected and verified by the Quality Department as satisfactory
Do Corn Thins contain yeast?
There are no yeast or yeast derivatives used in the manufacture of any Real Foods Regular Corn Thins (Original, Organic with Sesame, Soy & Linseed (Flax & Soy) Multigrain, Sesame, Rice Thins). There are yeast extracts in Tasty Cheese, Pizza, and Sour Cream & Chives Flavoured Corn Thins.
As a diabetic, I would like to know what is the Glycemic Index of your Corn Thins?
The GI of Real Foods Corn Thins is likely to be high. Foods with high GI values raise blood glucose levels more than those with low or medium values. They are useful for dietary variety and for replenishing muscle fuel stores after exercise. To lower dietary Glycemic Index simply combine high GI food that you would normally eat (eg corn or rice cakes, potatoes, or white rice) with lower GI foods (eg salad, fruit, vegetables, pasta, muesli) at each meal.
What is the Potassium content of Corn Thins?
As the declaration of Potassium content on packaging is not a regulatory requirement, this information has not been included in the Nutritional Panel of Corn Thins packaging. We do realise that some people are interested in the Potassium content, so we have included this information on each of the Corn Thins variant’s nutritional panels on the website. Just click on the ‘Corn Thins’ page, pick the Corn Thins variant you are interested in, then click on the ‘Nutrition Information’.